Most Minnesota residents who suffer injuries at work are entitled to file for workers’ compensation. It’s important to know the workers’ comp laws in the state if you plan on seeking benefits.
Who can file for workers’ compensation?
Minnesota’s workers’ compensation laws are straightforward. All employers that have at least one regular employee must carry workers’ comp insurance. Any regular employee is permitted to file a claim for workers’ compensation benefits if they fall ill or become injured on the job whether they work full- or part-time.
The workers’ comp system is in place to mutually protect employees and their employers. Employees can file for benefits when they can’t work or must limit their jobs. Meanwhile, employers are protected from personal injury lawsuits that would otherwise be filed by employees injured on the job.
What should an injured employee do?
If an employee suffers an on-the-job injury or illness and wishes to file a workers’ compensation claim, they must take immediate action. Reporting to their employer or a supervisor or manager within 14 days of the illness or injury can allow them to receive the maximum benefit if their claim is approved. In some cases, they can report within 30 days and still receive the maximum benefit if the employer acknowledges that they were delayed.
How does an employee qualify for workers’ compensation benefits?
Not all injured or ill employees necessarily qualify for workers’ comp benefits. For example, if a person suffered an injury during their leisure time that had nothing to do with their work, they would not be able to file a claim. Certain criteria must be in place to qualify for benefits, including the following:
- The employee’s injury or illness must be occupational
- The employee’s injury or illness must be directly related to their work
- The employee’s injury or illness must have developed over the course of their employment
On-the-job injuries and illnesses can be serious. Filing a workers’ comp claim can bring some peace of mind.